Skip Navigation

Iowa State University Iowa state University

Department of Sociology

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS & SCIENCES   •   COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE AND LIFE SCIENCES

Home | Publications | Links | Contact Us

 

Faculty - Department of Sociology

J. Gordon Arbuckle, Jr. Assistant Professor

J. Gordon Arbuckle, Jr. • Associate Professor

303c East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-1497, FAX: (515) 294-2303
arbuckle@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Sociology of agriculture and the environment
• Iowa Farm and Rural Life Poll

Dr. Arbuckle's Web site

Carmen Bain, Assistant Professor

Carmen Bain • Associate Professor

316 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-9895, FAX: (515) 294-2303
cbain@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Political economy of global agrifood systems
• Gender, agriculture and international development
• Social dimensions of genetically modified (GMOs) foods and crops

Dr. Bain's Web site

Monic Behnken, Assistant Professor

Monic Behnken • Assistant Professor

203c East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-8379
mbehnken@iastate.edu

Terry Besser, Professor

Terry Besser • Professor

217B East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-9283, FAX: (515) 294-2303
tbesser@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Research efforts have been directed toward studying organizations, work, and the relationship between businesses and communities.

Dr. Besser's Web site

Jeff Brinkley

Jeff Brinkley • Lecturer


brink864@iastate.edu

Chester Britt

Chester Britt • Professor and Department Chair

103 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-6480, FAX: (515) 294-2303
clbritt@iastate.edu


Dr. Britt's Web Site

Kyle Burgason

Kyle Burgason • Assistant Professor

216 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-6480, FAX: (515) 294-2303
burgason@iastate.edu


 

Matthew DeLisi, Professor

Matthew DeLisi • Professor

203A East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-8008, FAX: (515) 294-2303
delisi@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Habitual criminal offending, career criminals, and self-control theory

Dr. DeLisi's Web site

Betty Dobratz, Professor

Betty Dobratz • Professor

218 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-2033, FAX: (515) 294-2303
bdobratz@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Political sociology, social organization and social stratification

Dr. Dobratz's Web site

Shawn Dorius

Shawn Dorius • Assistant Professor

308 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-2299
sdorius@iastate.edu

Research Interests:

Demography: World Culture; Development; Cohorts
Stratification: Inequality; Nationality; Gender
Methods: International Surveys; Measurement; Secondary Data

Dr. Dorius' Web site

Theresa Downing Matibag

Teresa Downing-Matibag • Lecturer

303F East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-6519
tdowning@iastate.edu

Dr. Downing-Matibag's Web site

Andrew Hochstetler, Associate Professor

Andrew Hochstetler • Professor

203B East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-2841, FAX: (515) 294-2303
hochstet@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Criminology and political economy
• Relationship between the economy, crime and state-imposed punishment

Dr. Hochstetler's Web site

Gloria Jones Johnson, Professor

Gloria Jones Johnson • University Professor

202 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-2947, FAX: (515) 294-2303
gjj@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Self-employment and the contingent work force

Dr. Jones Johnson's Web site

Daniel Krier, Associate Professor

Daniel Krier • Associate Professor

4 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-7013, FAX: (515) 294-2303
krier@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Research bridges the interdisciplinary areas bounded by sociology, economics and business
• Theories, organizations and social change

Dr. Krier's Web site

Abdi Kusow, Associate Professor

Abdi Kusow • Associate Professor

216 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-3128, FAX: (515) 294-2303

kusow@iastate.edu

Dr. Kusow's web site

Paul Lasley, Professor and Department Chair

Paul Lasley • Professor

103 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-0937, FAX: (515) 294-0592

plasley@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Organization of U.S. agriculture and how changes in agriculture affect rural communities
• Co-investigator of the Iowa Farm and Rural Life Poll
• Rural development, community development, sustainable agriculture, and leadership in agriculture.

Dr. Lasley's Web site

Robert Mazur, Professor

Robert Mazur • Professor

302 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-9286, FAX: (515) 294-2303
rmazur@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Innovation and diversification in rural livelihood strategies, and linkages among livelihood activities, food security, and health

Dr. Mazur's Web site

Lois Wright Morton, Professor

Lois Wright Morton • Professor

317D East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-2843, FAX: (515) 294-2303
lwmorton@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Civic structure, human dimensions of natural resource management, community based watershed management, farmer decision making and rural quality of life

Dr. Wright Morton's Web site

Ann Oberhauser

Ann Oberhauser • Professor

217B East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-6480, FAX: (515) 294-2303
annober@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Gender and Globalization
• Critical Development Studies
• Feminist Methodology

Dr. Oberhauser's Web site

David Peters, Assistant Professor

David Peters • Associate Professor

304 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-6303, FAX: (515) 294-2303
dpeters@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Poverty and inequality
• Economic and workforce development
• Quantitative and spatial methods

Dr. Peters' Web site

Anastasia Prokos, Associate Professor

Anastasia Prokos • Associate Professor

217A East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-0515, FAX: (515) 294-2303
aprokos@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Aging, gender, and public policy.

Dr. Prokos's Web site

Rick Reger, Lecturer

Rick Reger • Lecturer

217D East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-1900
rreger@iastate.edu

Stephen Sapp, Professor

Stephen Sapp • Professor

320 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-1403, FAX: (515) 294-2303
ssapp@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Consumer attitudes about food safety and nutrition and consumer acceptance of agricultural technologies
• Social psychology, risk analysis, and methods/statistics

Dr. Sapp's Web site

David Schweingruber, Associate Professor

David Schweingruber • Associate Professor

318 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-4079, FAX: (515) 294-2303
dschwein@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Cultural and cognitive premises that guide social behavior in a variety of social settings, including formal organizations, social movements and political demonstrations

Dr. Schweingruber's Web site

Susan Stewart, Associate Professor

Susan Stewart • Professor

102 East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-5912, FAX: (515) 294-2303
stewarts@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
Family Demography
Gender
Parenting
Child and Adult Well-Being

Dr. Stewart's Web site

Deborah Tootle

Deborah Tootle • Associate Professor

700 Locust St, Suite 210, Dubuque, IA 52001
563-845-7286
dmtootle@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Leadership development
• Community development
• Civic engagement
• Disaster recovery planning

Betty Wells, Professor

Betty Wells • Professor

303D East Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011
515-294-1104, FAX: (515) 294-0592
bwells@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
• Sustainable Agriculture
• Agriculture and Natural Resources Extension

Dr. Wells' Web site